MR. INDECISIVE

This morning while on my third cup of coffee, I have a confession to make. I may be the worst at making decisions (and sticking to them). By the way, speaking of confession, were you scared shit like me when you first stepped into the confessional booth as a kid?

Don’t get me wrong, I have improved this part of my life (I’m a high school basketball coach, always making decisions).

ME AND MAUREEN DELANEY

Here’s the deal, oatmeal.

Many of you know that I have been working on writing a book.  The premise of the book is my experience growing up in the neighborhood. My teen years to be exact.  The toughest times of my life to be honest.

Here’s my problem; at times I write it as a memoir (Non-Fiction). At other times I feel the need to switch to the novel format (Fiction).

You’re probably sitting there saying to yourself, “WHAT?”

Let me explain. When I write it as a memoir, I feel I might embarrass some people (my daughter and wife mainly). It gets a bit uneasy putting my experience down on paper. Or, I’m not famous, who wants to read about my life. Or, I can just see someone taking me to court or even kicking my ass at my first book signing at Farrell’s.

When I write it as a novel, it just doesn’t feel right. Changing names, places, etc. Making stuff up, embellishing. You know what I mean, right?  You didn’t think ‘Catcher in the Rye’ was true did you?

But fear not.

Last night I read some uplifting, inspirational material from a few published authors; I also came across a great quote by John Steinbeck: “A good writer always works at the impossible.

From this moment on, I’m going with the MEMOIR!

It will cover my life from the ages of 13 to 18.

Much of the content is down on paper. Now I need to go through it and polish it up a bit.

Sorry for the delay.

I’m also going to do something I’m not used to doing. I’m going to set a deadline for the final manuscript. I’m setting a goal.  As of today, Saturday April 20, I’ll write the memoir and have it completed by January 1st, 2014.

Seven months to get it done.

Now let me run, I need to get to work!

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to MR. INDECISIVE

  1. jiimyvac says:

    Steven, I know you’ll do it… hope you include the moment you realized it was time/moment to change your life to be the successful man you are now…

  2. Mary Anne (Brick) Monaco says:

    Good luck Steve! Cant wait for the finished product, I’m sure it will be great reading.

  3. jiimyvac says:

    See, you already have two sales……

  4. TonyF16th St says:

    Hurry up and write the damn thing already. You could have written War and Peace II by now LOL The suspense is killing me.

  5. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    sometimes stating a goal ;publicly is a huge help.. speaking for myself, I am a master at letting things slide that I have not committed to out loud..to other people, lol!

  6. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Good Luck!! I can’t wait to read your book!!!!!!!!

  7. mike slavin says:

    STEVE, GOOD LUCK ON YOUR ENDEAVOR

  8. Joe Costantino says:

    Steve, Your writing is true to the heart. When your book comes out, put me down for a copy or two.

  9. Karen Artz Shanley says:

    Good Luck Fin. I’m sure it will be great

  10. Pat Fenton says:

    That’s a good choice, Steve. Don’t even think about using real names or fake names. Just use the real names. That will make the memories stronger as you write them. Down the road, you can always talk to an editor about changing any of them or not.
    In 1973, while working as a cargo man for Seaboard World Airlines, I wrote a long piece that was published in New York Magazine. The airline was not too happy with it. It has been republished many times since then in writing collections. And although I wrote it in memoir form, it read like fiction. But I could never have written it as fiction.
    Good luck to you.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Patrick!

      Thanks for the encouraging words.

      How are you?

      This morning I thought of you; I was browsing “Angela’s Ashes” by Frank McCourt and you popped in my head.

      Don’t ask my why!

      Hope all is well.

      Steve

  11. jiimyvac says:

    Angela’s Ashes was basically a collction of stories that McCourt told over the years.. Denis Hamill met Frank as a kid and heard the stories about thirty years before the book as published… All three books (‘Tis and Teacher Man)
    were great reads…. You got about a twenty year headstart on McCourt !!

  12. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Angela’s Ashes is one of my favorite books. When water came into my garage as a result of Sandy, many of my books were destroyed and I thought at the time: Of all my books, I hope Angela’ Ashes wasn’t destroyed. Guess what? It was. Only now I was able to tell myself: It’s OK, I can always buy another one–not like before. Many Irish people I know refuse to read this book, saying it’s untrue. (Family secrets must still be alive and kicking! ) I used to buy my books at a flea market at the Jersey Shore and would discuss books with the vendor. Angela’s Ashes was brought up and I had mentioned that it was like a reference book and he agreed. While my background was not anywhere near this, I knew families in the old neighborhood whose lives were somewhat similar. I wrote a paper for school about ACOA’s and used this book many times to stress a point. I remember a scene from the book where Frank is sitting on his stairs as a young boy and thinking that his father was like the Blessed Trinity (because of his different sides). I wonder how many families are still out there suffering and I pray for them all.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Joan,

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      I love Angela’s Ashes. And yeah, I question whether some of it’s true too. But hey, only Frank was there so only he really knows.

      Same for the Glass Castle. Have you read that? Some of those stories make me go, “hmmmmm…”

      The author who wrote that one book then went on Oprah got busted for his fabrication.

      Oh well.

      One thing is for sure, all my stories in my book are true!

      Red

  13. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    I read the book which was a fabrication and I thought what a shame because he was such a great writer he could have written it as a novel and it would have been just as good. Now I’m reading the Ma books written by Martha Long. These are a series of memoirs and some of her stories seem unbelievable but again I don’t care because her writing is great. She was born in Dublin in the 50’s. Since what I read about Ireland’s Industrial schools, reformatories, and the Magdalene Laundries, some of which she refers to in her first book Ma, He Sold Me for a Few Cigarettes, seems to tie into what she wrote about the kids in her neighborhood, I feel some of her stories tend to ring true.

Leave a Reply

