WHATEVER HAPPENED TO…

A new feature on the blog.

Haven’t you always wanted to know, ‘whatever happened to so and so’?

I often wonder about people from the neighborhood. Where are they? What are they doing?

Send me an e-mail with a name or names and we’ll throw it up on the blog to see what we can find.

First name I’m starting with is…

Whatever happened to Big Jimbo Burbridge?

-Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to WHATEVER HAPPENED TO…

  1. bob terry says:

    Wow, there’s a name from the past. I remember that he lived on 15th Street & had a brother & sister.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Bob, Jimbo was a good dude. He spent some time in the yard always working on his game.

      He had a sweet jump shot from the corner!

      • Gary Lang says:

        His younger brother, Bobby, was also a good guy. There weren’t too many basketball games or stickball games in the yard without one of them being in it.

  2. Glenn Thomas says:

    Big Jimbo had a sweeping hook shot through the lane! He was a character to say the least! Rumor has it that he lives out in Sunset Park somewhere.

  3. Denise McNeely Decker says:

    He lives in Bay Ridge now. He had two brothers and two sisters. One of each passed away. I’m friends with his sister Kathy.

    • Willy Wickham says:

      That would be Helen that passed away? I remember Helen, Bobby and Jim but didn’t know there were others.

      • Denise McNeely Decker says:

        Yes, Helen and John passed away. John was the oldest. I believe that Bobby & Jimmy live together in Bay Ridge. I’m friends with Kathy who was the youngest.

  4. mike slavin says:

    what about michael predergast ? michael & jay cronin ?

  5. Glenn Thomas says:

    What about Richie Costa from 17th Street?

  6. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    did the family move across from 154? or am I thinking of someone else??

  7. TonyF16th St says:

    What ever happened to Harry Mills?

  8. TonyF16th St says:

    How about Paully White and his brother Osso?

  9. jimmyvac says:

    Michael,
    Last I heard Joe Cronin lived in NJ.. met his brother in law a few years ago at a party… I think Mike is in Jersey also…What about John Alwell..?

  10. Glenn Thomas says:

    John Alwell is alive and doing well and still living on 13th Street. I see him quite often for he loves to hang out at the windsor diner or Connecticut Muffin.

  11. jimmyvac says:

    Cuz,
    Give him my regards… we used to challenge each other in baseball trivia…
    Spent a lot of time at his house.. great guy

  12. charlie destefano says:

    I know I am a few weeks late with this post, but how about the old Italian barber in Prospect Avenue (a few doors off 11th Avenue / next door to the bar) He had a huge copper towel steamer that he called “The Bigga Ball”!

    Anthony Barbera? Frankie Guerra? The Quirks? Reynaldo Alferoff? Steven Pisciotti? Alex Pollock? Michael Murphy? I grew up on 17th Street but moved when I was 12 years old. The memories of that great block are stuck in my old brain!

    I am still friends with Tommy Cirillo (18th Street)…

    Charlie DeStefano

Leave a Reply

