LOVE HER MADLY

When I was around 13, maybe 14, there was a fight in our neighborhood between two guys who were probably around 18 or 19 years old.

I knew both of them.

I actually looked up to them like big brothers.

They were great athletes and more importantly, “good people.”

And both guys were pretty popular around Windsor Terrace.

Pete Rose n Bud Harrellson

Their fight was over a girl. A very pretty one I must say.

What else is new, right? A lot of guys fought over a girl. (I wonder if the ladies ever had any fights over the guys?)

The fight happened in front of the parking garage on Windsor Place between Howard and Fuller. I’m not sure how long it lasted.

I was coming from a friend’s house and stood across the street and watched these two friends slug it out.

I’m not sure who won the fight or who even got the prize. Fights amongst friends were common in our neighborhood. One thing was for sure though, after the fight everything was back to normal…I think?

Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

 

 

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to LOVE HER MADLY

  1. Eddie Matula says:

    Sorry Steve- off topic but reading about those garages just brought back a memory. At about 8 or 9 years old, 1979, 1980 I used to pass that same garage everyday on my way home from Holy Name ( headed down Windsor to my house on 10th ). I used to climb the brick wall outside of the garage, the one closer to Fuller ) and one day the whole thing collapsed on me. Being 8 or 9 I was scared crapless !!!! Thinking about it now at this moment, the poor person who had to get their car in or out of that garage had to deal with all those bricks that came down.

  2. Kenny Whelan says:

    I use to think the Caginos who lived on Windsor just below 9th had to be really rich since they had a garage for their house. We didn’t even own a car

    • hoopscoach says:

      Kenny,

      I lived across the street from them.

      Franny and I grew up together.

      Wonder what she is doing these days.

      • Kenny Whelan says:

        Hung out with Anthong Cagino a lot as a teenager. Last I heard, he was a doctor. If I remember correctly, the family had some type of fruit delivery business. Or at least the grandfather did.

  3. jimmyvac says:

    Back in the day, you’d have a knockdown drag out with a friend, and all it took was ” dude, sorry about yesterday” and it was over. FYI:. I think Rae & Otto rented a garage over by there..

Leave a Reply

