10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2,1…

Back in the day.

The countdown.

New Year’s Eve.

Dick Clark.

Guy Lombardo.

IN THE BASEMENT

Booze.

Pots and pans.

Music.

Kissing.

Hugging.

Hanging out in Prospect Park and when it got too cold, we went to someone’s basement.

Partying into the early morning.

Boy do I miss those days in the neighborhood.

We went bananas.

I remember when I was about 15, I spent all my Christmas money on three bottles of Wild Irish Rose.

I started at around 8 o’clock and when it was time to drop the ball in Times Square, I was hammered.

Living in Brooklyn, being so close to Times Square, I don’t think I got over there enough to watch the ball drop!

And the resolutions, I can’ forget about making that list…and having a hard time sticking to it.

Waking up on New Year’s Day morning; grabbing a coffee and a buttered roll from Pynn’s deli. Grabbing a newspaper from Rae and Otto’s then home to watch all the college football games! Cotton Bowl, Rose Bowl, Orange Bowl and of course the Sugar Bowl! (The money I lost betting on those games…mamma mia!)

Happy New Year everyone!

Stay safe…

-Steve

HOOPS135@HOTMAIL.COM

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2,1…

  1. Willy Wickham says:

    Happy New Year! So glad I don’t drink anymore….

  2. pbyrnes says:

    Hi Steve Finamore… how about Patrick Byrnes?

Leave a Reply

