A HICKEY FROM KENICKIE

The other day I was walking through our local mall and saw a teenager with a mark on her neck.

I took a closer look and noticed it was a hickey.

Man-o-Man, I have not seen one of those in years!

Steve 

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A HICKEY FROM KENICKIE

  1. Judy says:

    Nothing to do with ‘hickies’..
    Do you remember when Oak Park Pharmacy was Langton’s Bar & Grill?
    Or when Oak Park Dh. was where Connecticut Muffin is?

  2. Glenn Thomas says:

    Big Al’s Chicken!!!!!!!

  3. mike slavin says:

    IN THE FRONT OF LANGTON’S BAR MRS. LANGTON HAD AN ICE CREAM SHOP. WHEN MY BROTHER JOHN WAS A DELIVERY BOY RIDING THOSE BIG BIKES WITH THE BIG BASKET IN FRONT HE WOULD TAKE ME WITH HIM ON A FEW DELIVERIES. HE WOULD ALWAYS STOP THERE TO BUY ME AN ICE CREAM CONE. MRS. LANGTON WOULDN’T TAKE HIS MONEY BECAUSE SHE SAID IT WAS A REWARD FOR TAKING CARE OF HIS KID
    BROTHER. SHE ALSO LOOKED LIKE MAUREEN O’HARA. SHE HAD SHOCKING RED, RED HAIR.

    • Judy says:

      Yes thank you.. I have dreams of the old neighborhood. It takes my younger brother to tell the’re not dreams but memories.

    • John Langton says:

      That was my grandmother, Mike. A wonderful woman who died tragically young at age 57, Halloween 1971. A day I will never forget.

  4. John Langton says:

    Judy- Langton’s Bar& Grill belonged to my grandfather. If your of age you might recall next to Langton’s was a Freezer Fresh Ice Cream. My grandmother owned that from ’65 until her sudden death in ’71.

  5. Judy says:

    Yes, Thank you. I went to school, PS 154, with Robert Langton. Not sur if he’s a relation to you. For some reason I remember a funeral parlor on Coney Island Ave. near the Kent movie that had the name Langton.

    • John Langton says:

      Judy- I had an Uncle Bob Langton as well as a cousin (his son, Rob). If you’re older than me, I’m 52, than you must me talking about my uncle. Otherwise, my cousin is 48. Never heard about the funeral parlor!

  6. John Langton says:

    Hi Judy- That would be my Uncle Bob. Sadly, we lost him two years ago. And anyone who frequented would remember he worked there at night.

  7. Rob Langton says:

    My Grandfather’s bar as well.

  8. H.Mills says:

    My Dad George hung out in Langtons, was good friends with Frank Langton, I had a road test scheduled fall of ’72, but we didn’t own a car—-no problem Frank told my dad—I took my road test in Mr Langton’s car !!!

    • hoopscoach says:

      Teamwork, I love it.

      Hey Harry, I didn’t get my driver’s license until I was 25 years old.

      My father and mother never drove… didn’t have their license.

      Think my Uncle Tim finally got his at the age of 50!

    • John Langton says:

      If I remember correctly, he had a purple Marlin in ’72. My grandparents took me for a ride in that car when they first got it, and I obliged by throwing up in it!

Leave a Reply

