H.N.S CLASS OF 1965

Special thanks to Gary for sending this photo. (Double click the image to enlarge)

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to H.N.S CLASS OF 1965

  1. Gary Lang says:

    I found this photo at my parents house. I wanted to share it with everyone because there are people we may not have seen in years. If anyone has seen or know there whereabouts, please share the info. Thanks.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Gary,

      It was great seeing Forte Bellino in that picture.

      And you are right, hopefully we can get others from that class to chime in and give us an update.

      • Gary says:

        Hoopscoach,
        Forte was a dynamic guy. Thanks to him, I get all Bishop Ford mail regarding upcoming events and I graduated from Nazareth H.S. I happened to mention it to him one day and he laughed that he put everyone in the neighborhood on the Ford list.

      • hoopscoach says:

        Gary,

        I didn’t go to Ford either (but I coached there) and live in Michigan and used to get the Ford Mag too.

        Hope all is well.

  2. bob terry says:

    Gary, Thanks for the photo. How’s your family? I was very sorry to hear about your losses during 9/11. Your class graduated a year after mine & included my brother James, who lives in Connecticut & is a retired police officer. It was great to see Ed Keyes, who hung out with my group. I know Gerard Kent still lives on Windsor Place. Whatever happened to Acky? What a good athlete. Thanks again & regards to your family, Bob Terry – Los Angeles.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Great stuff Bobby…

    • Gary says:

      Good to hear from you Bob. Mom and Dad are living in Jersey along with all the others. My brother Jim and I are the only ones living in NYC. I talk with Ed Keyes on FB alot and he seems to be doing well. Don’t know what ever happened to Acky but I did run into Jimmy Riches about 2 months ago and he still lives in Dyker Heights.

  3. JOHN BIES says:

    It has been 47 years since I have seen that picture. Brings back a lot of good memories. Especially Forte Bellino who was my blocker whenever one of the brothers decided they needed to throw an eraser at me. I would just duck behind him.May he rest in peace

  4. jimmyvac says:

    It was cool to see my cousin Charlie Gabbert in the pic. I almost forgot what he looked like back then…

  5. Ed Keyes says:

    There were a lot of great guys in that class ! Bob Terry, Gerard Kent, Johnny Bies (hope you are feeling well John), Bobby Welch, Jimmy Riches, John Mahoney, John Plunkett, Gary “Butterballs” Lang and all the rest, really good people. I recall Forte on the 1st day of HNS, he was someone we all gravitated to and was a great friend in HNS and BFHS. While in the Marine Corps I ran into Ackie on Gitmo before it was a “fashionable” piece of geography. I recall he was a Navy medic assigned to us Marines, title was actually Corpsman. Ran into Charlie Gabbert on the 1st Holy Name/BFHS cruise , it was great catching up with Charlie. Just in touch w/Mike Gogarty on FB thru Gary. I am fine and live on the Jersey shore. Rheumatoid arthritis has been a literal pain in the____ for 30 years or so, just had a hip replacement.— small potatos w/ what others have to endure. All the best to one and all, some psycho times w/ the likes of Bro. Gaudentius but overall what a great 8 years. Ed

    • hoopscoach says:

      Eddie,

      Thanks so much for the rundown on your ex-classmates. Seems like a bunch of super guys. Love how you touch on each guy.

      Hang in there, keep fighting the good fight!

      Enjoy the Holiday weekend!

      Steve

  6. Joe Costantino says:

    R. Patino (Lower Right) That is my brother-in-law Rick. He past on a few years ago. Great Guy.

  7. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Joe, I knew Ricky, he was a great guy, he ALWAYS had a boom box that we all listened to on Hippie Hill…RIP- wow,I know a lot of those guys, Franklin Masterson lived up the block on 13th and 8th- I hung out with Louie Donofrio by Sonny’s, John Plunkett lived around the corner (when we lived on 8th bet 12th and 13th), I hung out with Mike Gogarty, Danny Ditonno and Tommy Sturges, all at different points growing up- I know Charlie Gabbert now, not then, his kids and my nephews grew up together..George Farran was my friend Teashie’s cousin, I guess he still is, but she is gone now- and I remember the Tufano from 11th st- I knew his sister Anna

Leave a Reply

