BOOK WORMS UNITE!

Not sure if you can tell by my writing but I was a dummy in grammar school.

Guess what? I have no problem admitting how poorly I did at Holy Name.

Look, it’s not how you start the race, it’s how you finish, right?

My grades were awful; how I didn’t get left back, I’ll never know!

Thanks to Jeanne Cummins for posting these pictures on Facebook and I stole them (nah, just kidding, got her permission)

You will not find my name, so don’t look!

Enjoy.

By the way, I have some church bulletins that were sent to me from the 1960’s that I will be posting too.

Double click on each image…it will grow before your eyes!

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to BOOK WORMS UNITE!

  1. bob terry says:

    Wow, I wish I was good @ saving things, but I’m not. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. I left Brooklyn in June of 1972, but recognize many of those names. I especially got a kick out of the ad: complete wedding, including cocktail hour, for $12 a head; hell, I can’t buy a drink in Beverly Hills today for $12. And, when was the last time you saw a 12 page church bulletin? Thanks again, Bob Terry

    • hoopscoach says:

      Bob,

      There were a few other pages too; I left them out.

      Hope you are well!

    • Jeanne Cummins McDonnell says:

      In response to your noticing that it was a 12 page bulletin, Isn’t that amazing? I cannot remember the last time I saw one of those. When I stumbled upon the one from 1972 I thought it was for a graduation or one of the sacraments.

  2. jimmyvac says:

    Is’nt amazing how many familiar last years are all over all the bulletins.. Another example of how many kids were around then. I remember how shocked my neice was when I told her we had two classes each of boys and girls with 48 kids in each class….

  3. Gene Green says:

    Not to be sexist but notice that there are more Girls then boys listed. I finished Holy Name in 67 but looking at the list I can reconigze many names so I realize they are younger brothers and sisters. Just the nature of the nature of the area. Even today some of the same families are still living in the same house.

  4. Willy Wickham says:

    Those ads are a trip! Tony Rosaci at Ethico was one of the nicest, kindest guys around. One of my brothers worked for him in the late ’50’s-early 60’s while another brother worked for the competition at Ballards during the same period. There was a third drug store on 17th & 9th called Cuculo which had no ad in the bulletin and was owned by Ballards. It was run by John Cuculo, who was very old. It didn’t do much business and it seemed to be open just to keep him busy and away from Ballards.
    And Henry’s Deli, a REAL German deli run by REAL Germans who spoke with REAL German accents! It’s still in business up there but is it still Henry, Carl and Hans?

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Willt,

      I loved the Iced Tea’s at Henry’s.

    • Gene Green says:

      My brother Joe married Henry’s daughter Evelyn. I had a preference for the deli next to Farrells. Lived above Tony’s in teh early 70’s. I remember getting a butterfly stitch from him to avoid telling the parents what happened back in the 60’s. Some very interesting memories from one bulletin can bring back. Looking at the date I was in the Navy for 9 months at that point. I figured enlisting in the Navy was better then an invitation in the mail ( very low draft number).

  5. jimmyvac says:

    Gene,
    As a kid, my folks would send me to Salerno’s for chop meat.. then I had to go to the deli by Farrells.. the way it was said to me was one word”delibyfarells”.. I would get a hunk of chop meat from Joe Salerno, and the guys at the deli would give me a slice of baloney, liverwurst or roast beef.. I never knew the actual name of the deli until I read it in the diaries…..

  6. Denise McNeely says:

    Really enjoyed this Steve. Hope you will put up more pages. Brings back so many memories. And yes, Tony (Ethico) was a great man. He saved my father’s life when I was a very little girl. I’ll never forget him.

  7. Jack Kelly says:

    Coach, Thank God life isn’t the 100 hundred yard dash. Because in that race it is how you start…..but fortunately for me life is a marathon and seeing old pictures and stuff makes it that much more enjoyable going forward knowing more great memories are just around the corner. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  8. Glenn Thomas says:

    Henry’s is still there and owned by a wonderful Korean family. They are friends of the Grells and lived in Germany befioe coming to the US to live. They speak fluent German. As a child I was born at 466 Prospect Avenue just across from the old Cascade Laundry. We played with the Grell children for years. ( Henry, Walter, Evelyn, and Nancy). My brother Drew was Walter’s good friend. The two had fallen out of contact over the years and right before my brother passed away from cancer it was Walter who walked into the Methodist Hospital to see him right before he passed. I will never forget tha kindt gesture and I will certainly never forget the Grell family.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Glenn,

      Touching!

      Love the history of our neighborhood families.

      I will never forget, every Friday night we would have Fish Cakes and beans for dinner. The cakes were from Henry’s.

  9. mike slavin says:

    MY MOTHER AND TWO OLDER BROTHERS JOHN & ROBERT WORKED AT THE DELI NEXT TO FARRELLS BACK IN THE LATE 60’S EARLY 70’S. DURING LENT FISH CAKES WERE A REAL MOVER. IF YOU DIDN’T GET THEM BY 3PM THEY WOULD BE GONE. THEY WOULD HAVE TRAYS STACKED ON THE COUNTER. I HAD THEM EVERY FRIDAY WITH SPAGHETTI-O’S. GREAT CHEAP MEAL. WHEN I WENT TO HOLY NAME HAD LUNCH EVERY DAY THERE. BACK IN THE KITCHEN THEY HAD 2 BOXES UP ON THE SHELF, ONE WAS FULL OF PLAYBOY BOOKS THE OTHER FULL OF COMIC BOOKS. ALL THE GUYS BEHIND THE COUNTER AND THE BOTTLE BOYS WERE IN THEIR
    MIDDLE TO LATE TEENS AND READ THEM DURING THEIR BREAKS.DA
    THE OWNER LIVED OVER THE STORE AT THAT TIME AND ELFREDA THE COOK DID ALSO.

  10. David Cullen says:

    I see my brother James (Jimmy) there, as well as Gregory Wood, Frank Fasano, Robert Hannan, as well as a whole a bunch of others. What a trip down Memory Lane!!!

  11. Glenn Thomas says:

    Wow! Great memories from Mike Slavin! As a young child I never really ventured into that Deli next to Farrell’s until many years later when the Pynn’s owned it for we always seemed to go to Henry’s. My mother was a teacher for many years at PS 107. When I was sick and home with a fever I can remember my mom bringing me home a soda and a custard from that Deli next to Farrell’s. Our neighborhood was lucky to have two good German Delicatessen’s on the avenue. Now it seems there are hardly any left no matter where one goes.

Leave a Reply

