10th AVENUE FREEZE-OUT

Gladys is fast becoming my favorite reader of Container Diaries…

Mickey Breen and Willy Wickham hanging out at McCauley’s Bar.

(Double click on image)

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 10th AVENUE FREEZE-OUT

  1. TonyF16thst says:

    Looks like the bar on corner of Prospect Ave. and 8th Ave?

  2. TonyF16thst says:

    I should have know that I lived across the street from it.

  3. Jack Kelly says:

    Prospect and 8th was Devaney’s than became EJ’s.

  4. TonyF16thst says:

    I was never much for hanging out in bars for any given period of time. I always felt closed in. I would hang out for a little while and then I had to leave.

  5. Jack Kelly says:

    I always liked resting my elbow on the mahogany. When I was in Ireland the Pubs were the highlight of the trip for me. We started seeing the tourist attractions and small towns and such but it was the pubs in the small towns that caught my eye. In a short time my wife took my advice and agreed with me that it’s the Irish people that are the sites to see in Ireland and joined the party. We had so much fun in one pub that we were invited to a funeral the next day. That was more fun than the pub!

  6. jimmyvac says:

    That was a great bar.. was in there about 10 times when I was a kid… Jack, there are great sites to see in Ireland but the people there were phenomenal.
    From the cabdrivers to the tour guides at Jameson’s Irish Whiskey factory, we were treated great.

  7. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I spent many a night in McAuley’s on that round table in the corner by the front- “Old Man Bill” would let ANYBODY in there, lol…I pass by there almost every day- it is now a “Doggie Day Care Center”, Sonny’s (on 17th and 10th) is a private apartment now, and the Windsor Pub/ Conny’s Corner is also a private apartment- there used to be 4 bars on that stretch of 10th ave bet 16th and 17th- now only Rhythm and Booze (formerly McBear’s) is left!

    • Gene Green says:

      You forgot the K of C I think it is still there. My wife’s Aunt owned Conny’s at one point. Her uncle was known Sid who hung out in McNulty’s. I knew him before I met her. Went out to visit her realitives one Christmas Eve and on the list was Uncle Danny. We went into teh house and her uncle got me the correct drink without asking, my wife asked me how he knew and I said it might have been a good guess. Never mentioned that to me his name was Sid.

  8. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    the K of C is still there, but is not open on a regular basis..we used to wear a path from McAuley’s to Sonny’s and back again, I always thought there should have been some kind of shuttle back and forth 🙂

  9. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I never really hung out in the bar on Windsor, but would stop and talk to Frankie Madden when he was working…. (sigh) he was a good guy, gone waaaay too soon

  10. Eddie Matula says:

    I’m 41, my dad will be 66 next month—-but I have his # 55 fooball jersey from when he played ball for Sonny’s in the 60’s. As a matter of fact- he’s from 6th and 21st, my mom from 10th and 16th street ( the Rohde’s ). I believe mom and dad were introduced outside Sonny’s.

  11. Eddie Matula says:

    yeah Steve—–will do…….

Leave a Reply

