QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Don’t be on time, be early.” 

-Mike Rigger

As a kid I was the worst when it came to being on time.

When I was a student at Holy Name, the number in the box on my report card for “days late” was always in double figures.

This with living across the street from the damn building!

My nickname should have been, “Tardy”.

I think back to the many mornings walking up the black, steel steps in the schoolyard leading to the building and having to pass Sister Barbara, our school principal.

I’m sure she was thinking to herself, “late again Mr. Finamore!”

At the time I should have felt embarrassed walking in on class after it had started.

“Mr. Finamore, don’t you have an alarm clock?” Miss Lynn, my 3rd grade teacher asked me one morning as I took my seat way in the back of the class.

She totally embarrassed me in front of my classmates.

“No, I don’t you witch!” I mumbled under my breath.

In those days, you didn’t talk back to your teachers.

Thank heavens all that changed as I got a bit older.

My quote of the day pertains to time; I was awful during one stretch of my life managing it. I would have to say that it started early in life; always running late in the morning. Running around the apartment in a reckless manner,  searching for a sock, or the hairbrush. Some mornings being so late I wouldn’t eat any breakfast which probably explains my below average grades.

It wasn’t until I was coaching at a basketball camp in my early 20’s that I listened to another coach talk to the campers about the importance of being on time; since then, I have become much better managing my time.

How are you when it comes to going places?

Are you one who is always running behind and rushing to get to your destination?

Or, are you the type that arrives early?

When I became serious about the coaching profession I tried to study and research as many of the great coaches as possible.  One of my subjects was Vince Lombardi, the late, great football coach.  He would often talk about self-improvement. “If you ain’t 15 minutes early, you’re late.”

We call that, “Lombardi Time.”

-Steve

HOOPS135@HOTMAIL.COM

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to QUOTE OF THE DAY

  1. Jack Kelly says:

    My excuse for being late on Fridays was the bartender wouldn’t let me leave.

  2. David Cullen says:

    Thanx for quoting the great Vince Lombardi, who is originally from the Sheepshead Bay section of Brooklyn, attended college at Fordham, playing offensive lineman, in the Bronx, before coaching high school in New Jersey, eventually nailing an assistant coach position with the New York Giants before being named head coach of Green Bay. Lombardi had a knack for chewing players out during practice then speaking with them individually after practice. According to Jerry Kramer, Hall of Fame offensive lineman for those great Packer teams, Lombardi, after practically embarrassing him during a practice, spoke with Kramer in locker room after practice and said “son, you are gonna be one of the finest players who ever played this game.” According to Kramer and other Packers, the first Super Bowl victory was for the team and the second one was “for Vince,” who they knew was leaving after that season.

    When I was in high school, despite being down the street from a train that would get me to LaSalle in 20 minutes, I was late numerous times for first period English in my junior year. Fortunately, the teacher, Mr Musante, from Queens, appreciated my actual work when I was in English class (as one comedian put it, I was an “Irish literary pub type”) and didn’t let the latenesses affect my grades too much. Being late in the workforce didn’t help. Eventually, I realized Lombardi’s quote, without ever reading it until today, and started showing up to work 15 to 30 minutes early that way I could ease myself into my day.

    Why enter a classroom or a work station all in a rush, scurrying to get organized, when I can get there a bit early, read a paper or something else, perhaps do some work, and ease into my day? Can do wonders for blood pressure, too. As I go through aging process, those things are important.

    Another good post.

  3. Gene Green says:

    I have established a routine of “Gene Hours” but to do it I also spend 9 or 10 hours when working. Everyone I work with knows that I do best at meeting when they are between 10 & 4. Thankfully my knowledge and skills have allowed me to be flexible with my time. To me 11:00 means 11:00 +/- 15 mins.
    BTW when I was in school making first period was always a challange. My son when in college did his course schedule by class start time.

  4. jimmyvac says:

    David,
    Vince Lombardi went to my high school, Cathedral Prep. We had the same gym teacher, John Crane who told us Lombardi was quiet , studious but had quite a temper.
    I am always early for everything. I used to drive my wife and kids nuts about being on time for parties.. I have eased up on that.My kids have picked up our habits and are always early for work. I think it comes from

    my family, playing sports and having a 30 minutencommute to high school…

  5. Glenn Thomas says:

    I remember having to have a note for every reason under the sun. I can recall that if we missed Sunday morning Mass with our class that we had to have a note ready on that following Monday to be presented to our teacher giving an explanation as to the reason why we were not in attendance. I can also remember the guilt complex that we’d get at school when our classroom collections to the Missions and the Propagation of the Faith wasn’t satisfactory. We had one kid that we could bank on and I was never sure if he was even Catholic, Ashraf Mustafa, was an Egyptian and may have been a Coptic Christian. Ashraf always had a wad of cash. I can remember the teacher bribing us that if we met a certain monetary goal that we would get little or no homework, Ashraf was our “go to” guy and he came through most times!! Funny stuff! He still lives in the area for I spotted him one day from the distance as I was sitting in Connecticut Muffin!

  6. jimmyvac says:

    Brother Vinny had a competition among the rows for donations.. I remember going to my Aunt’s in northern Jersey and not only did you need a note you had to state where you attended Mass
    Steve,
    I am amazed at all the baseball games we had all over Brooklyn that we made twere on time.. My (about 85-100) high school was in Fort Greeen and I would run out and change on the bus/train (gym shorts on)…. now kids get chauffered by their folks…

Leave a Reply

