HAPPY FATHER’S DAY

Quote of the Day

“To become a father is not hard. To be a father is, however.”

-Wilhelm Busch

On New Year’s Day, most of us start a resolution.

Today is Father’s Day and at this very moment,  I challenge every dad to become a better father to their child.

I also challenge every son or daughter to reach out, pick up the phone and call their father.

Here’s a revised blog entry I wrote a couple of years ago; it’s a letter to my late father.

Dear Dad,

I have a hard time beginning this letter using ‘dad‘.

Maybe I should use your first name (Cono) or your nickname (Gooch)?

I always thought that was a funny nickname; and by the way, how’d  you get it?

Around the neighborhood they called me ‘Red’ because of the color of my hair.

As a proud father of an 13-year-old daughter, I have learned so much about parenting; it’s a daily process, 24-7.  The one thing that I can’t understand to this day is why you weren’t a very good parent? If they gave out grades for your parenting skills, you’d get a D minus.

Yo Gooch, I was your son.  The one you should have helped go from a boy to a man. It took me a long time to figure that one out. And trust me, it wasn’t easy.

Along the way there were high’s and low’s.  The low’s lasted longer than I would’ve liked, and maybe having you around during those low’s, would’ve got me through the tough times a lot quicker.

You were responsible for instilling discipline in this young, lost, and innocent boy. But you were nowhere to be found. You let me slide many times.

You were the one who was supposed to attend my basketball games at Holy Name. But you’d rather spend your Saturday mornings in the Cube Steak.

You were the one who was supposed to sit-down at the table and help me with my homework. But you were hanging out in Timboo’s.

How about tossing a ball back and forth to each other across the street in the schoolyard?

You could have taught me how to ride a bike.

When I became a teenagers how about teaching me how to drive a car? Actually, forget the part of teaching me to drive a car, you didn’t have your license. You took the train everywhere.

Shit, you could have taught me how to shoot a basketball! But later for that, you weren’t a very good athlete in your time.

I would have been happy with a short trip across 9th avenue to Rae and Otto’s for an egg cream.  We could have sat down at the counter and talked about basketball, baseball or even the birds and the bees.

Regardless of what anyone says, it’s a parent’s responsibility to raise their children. (Mom tried hard, she gave it all she had but there is nothing like a boy having his dad involved in his life)

I’ll never forget the time you told me you were going to take me to a baseball game; the New York Mets and the Big Red Machine at Shea Stadium. It was supposed to be for my birthday. You poked a hole through my heart that night when you were a no-show. You also taught me a valuable lesson that night.  You taught me to never let my daughter down; when I make a promise to her, always keep it.

But wait, as I think back to my days as a kid you did teach me a few things. You taught me to place toilet paper around the bowl when I have to drop a deuce in a public bathroom and you once warned me that when I carry a wallet to keep it in my front pocket so it couldn’t be picked out of my back pocket.

Two valuable lessons I never forgot!

Oh but hold on Gooch, you might have taught me the greatest lesson of all regarding parenthood;  “how not to raise a child.”

Your Son,

Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to HAPPY FATHER’S DAY

  1. Karen Artz Shanley says:

    Happy Father’s Day Steve

  2. JOHNNY SEILER says:

    HAPPY FATHERS DAY STEVE GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY ALSO TRYING TO GET FROM MY UNCLE SOME OLD PICTURES OF OUR MOMS AND AUNT ELLIE FROM THE OLD DAYS IN THE HIGH LORD CLUB BACK IN THE SIXTIES, IF I DO U WILL GET SOME COPIES.TAKE CARE!!!!!!!!!

  3. jimmyvac says:

    Steven,
    A variation of the quote is any *&^&& can be a father, it takes a man to be a dad.” We learn by example what to do or not what to do by our fathers. The best advice I was given was from my Aunt Catherine, who helped raise me after Mom died,. She said whatever I promise I make I have to keep.. and I have.. whether it was a game or an event or a punishment, I saw it thorugh….

    Have a great FATHERS DAY.. we all have earned it..

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Jimmy, hope all is well.

      • tommy fraser says:

        steve, pehaps you did learn a lesson from your dad . i lost .my dad when i was 10 years old. he was a hardworking old soul.. my stepfather,was .really cool.. the trick was to take what you got and make the most of it. i respect my dad for for what he was. and my stepfather, for what he was. i find myself a kind of combo of both. there are guys out there who known my step father .his name .was dom bisceglia. he was really dissapointed when i did not take his name..

      • hoopscoach says:

        Thanks Tommy…hope you are well.

  4. jimmyvac says:

    FATHERS DAY IS THE MOST IMPORTANT DAY OF THE YEAR…
    GIFTS COUNT.. CARDS WILL BE PRETENDED TO BE READ..

  5. Jack Kelly says:

    Ah yes…Father’s Day……let’s see. Spent some time with my dad then went home and did four loads of wash,cleaned the bathrooms, cooked dinner , washed the dishes took the clothes off the line, folded and put away the clothes then I went to bed. Yes Father’s Day is very special 😉

  6. TonyF16thst says:

    Bravo Steve. Very well said. Hope you had a great Fathers day

Leave a Reply

