SPORTS PHONE

Does anyone remember King Wally?

How about dialing up 976-1313?

You don’t know what I’m talking about?

Before there was Sportscenter and 24-7 sports news and scores, there was sports phone.

Back in the last 70’s and early 80’s I used to call it a lot. And boy was my mother’s phone a lot too.

I recall her getting pissed at me for making so many calls. It got so bad once I opened up the bill and removed the sheets with the list of calls to sports phone.

I’d do that with the long distance calls too.

King Wally used to be the guy I recall giving us all the scores. They were updated every 15 minutes. The guy talked super-fast.

“This is King Wally we’re back at 2:45 with our next update.”

He wouldn’t give you all the scores at once; he’d tease you just to make you call back if you didn’t hear your game.

Sports phone was huge with gamblers. It was the best way to keep track of the games that you bet.

So, how about it, did you ever pick up the phone and call Sports phone?

-Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SPORTS PHONE

  1. Eddie Matula says:

    called that sportsphone all the time as a kid when I wanted to hear the scores on the Yankees, Rangers or Knicks—when I caught flack for using my parents phone I switched and used my grandparents instead 🙂

  2. Coach,
    Santa & Dial a joke!

  3. Kevin Mahoney says:

    I remember being anxious to get my scores and our rotary phone taking so long to put the call through!

  4. richie k says:

    otb results

  5. jimmyvac says:

    I remember when Seaver was traded in 1977… whenever he pitched, I would call to get the info…

Leave a Reply

