HABITS

QUOTE OF THE DAY

“You can’t get much done in life if you only work on the days when you feel good.”

-Jerry West

I wish I had read this quote by the “Logo” when I was younger.

As a teenager growing up in the 80’s, I had an awful work ethic.

I was lazy, uninspired and unmotivated. I was idle more than I was active on the employment trail.

Thank heavens all that changed!

Where and when does the habit of a strong work ethic start?

Positive habits and a strong work ethic are vital to your success!

While I was an ironworker for a couple of years back in the 80’s I worked alongside some very hard-working journeymen. They showed up every morning and worked their asses off.

One thing about our neighborhood is that it produced so many hard-working guys and gals over the years. It didn’t matter if it was firemen, cops, teachers, store clerks, mail carriers, store owners…these people knew the secret. They strived each and every day to do their best. The newsstand owner who awakened each morning before dawn to make sure the papers were out. The deli owner who was there to open the gate at 6AM so people could grab their coffee and bagel before heading off to work. How about the school teachers who are up and at ’em each and every morning, ready to teach a classroom filled with anxious schoolchildren.

I can’t forget about the newspaper delivery kids. These 12 and 13 year olds got up earlier than any other kid and got it done!

How was your work ethic as a teenager?

What about today as an adult?

Regardless of your craft, one thing is certain, you better be motivated each and every morning when you head out that door.

-Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HABITS

  1. Jack Kelly says:

    I think the secret is don’t give anyone time to think about it. One moment on a fine early Sunday Morning just turning 15 years old my Father wakes me and says hurry up get dressed I got a car waiting. Before I knew it 20 minutes later I was pumping gas in Red Hook. No chance to think about it means no chance to say no.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Jack I like the strategy!

      A few years ago I heard of a story where two teens were giving their parents problems; getting into trouble at school, etc. The parents decided to send them away to a boot camp.

      The soldiers came in the middle of the night and snatched the kids from their beds!

      No chance to think about it!

      Have a great weekend.

  2. jim casey says:

    are those kids now in therapy ?

  3. jimmyvac says:

    I had paper routes, worked the summer as a messenger in the city. It’s funny I don’t think anyone told me to get a job. My first real job as a paper boy was when Jackie Essex gave me his Daily News Night Owl route when I was about 9. Looking back, I guess I had a good work ethic mainly because i wanted stuff and my dad was not gonna just give it to me. Paying for my baseball and basketball teams was enough….

Leave a Reply

