ROCK-N-ROLL ALL NIGHT

i-Tunes is great.

What, you don’t have it?

Wait a minute, you don’t know what it is?

You have no idea what you’re missing.

In their radio section I can listen to many different stations from around the country.

The other day I was listening to a classic rock station out of Connecticut and it brought me back to the days of WNEW and WPLJ.

Growing up as a kid, those were the two top NYC radio stations for rock-n-roll.

We listened to the Stones, Zeppelin, The Who and many more…

Rock and Roll’s not the same as it used to be.

Those were the days my friend.

What was your favorite radio station?

Respectfully,

Red

HOOPS135@HOTMAIL.COM

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ROCK-N-ROLL ALL NIGHT

  1. Jack Kelly says:

    My favorite station as a kid was WMCA Good Guys on the AM dial. Then when FM kicked off it was WPLJ. As far back as I remember I’ve always been a Beatles fan. They were my musical intro into Rock ‘N’ Roll music along with a little help from my best friends older sister who first played “I Want To Hold Your Hand” for me. Imagine that just nine years old and I fell in love twice that day. And as Joan Jett And The BlackHearts sang -” I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll “.

  2. jimmy vac says:

    Steve “Smokin Weed” ..99.1 (?) and WNEW. Once while under the boardwalk , Steve screamed ,”Get rid of the weed.. fuzz is here!” Behind us was all kinds of noises of people getting up and making a run for it… WNEW was great in the mid 70s introducing us to Springsteen , Southside Johnny and others…

  3. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    WNEW-FM was the all-time greatest radio station ever (for me) I felt like I knew the DJ’s, as a matter of fact, I was on a plane once – I had a window seat, and there were two guys sitting next to me- I remember they were talking about VMI and the female cadet that had dropped out (was a while ago) The guy sitting next to me asked me my opinion on it- I said- “excuse me, you are gonna think I am crazy, but is your name Ken Dashau?” He said- “how did you know?” I said- “damn, I have been listening to you for years- I KNOW your voice” It was him and Richard Neer on the plane- I can’t hear the Beatles “Flying” without thinking of Alison Steele, the Night Bird- when I hear that song, I think it is 2 in the morning, that was her sign-off song- sadly, another one of my favorites, Pete Fornatele passed last week.. but that was the station for me- even satellite does not come close…

  4. Kevin Mahoney says:

    WNEW was the best, but I remem
    ber one summer in the early ’80’s there was a rock station called WAPP that had a commercial free summer.

  5. John Langton says:

    WNEW- Scott Muni, Allison Steele, the recently deceased Pete Fornatele, Dave Herman, more like friends than DJ’s.

  6. H.Mills says:

    Check out NY Radio Archives-WNEW-FM 102.7 Good Stuff !

  7. jimmy vac says:

    I remember bringing my portable radio phonograph to the beach with a couple of albums.. I stopped when the record began melting… Then it was radio only…..
    Jack, the amazing thing about the Beatles impact is that I was born in 1960 and when I bought my first Beatles album, I knew almost all the lyrics from just hearing the songs around the neighborhood…
    I remember going home a ilttle earlier on Saturday night to catch the Wolfman Jack hosted ,”MIdnight Special”…

  8. Jack Kelly says:

    Jimmy, My kids know all the Beatles songs because once a year they must sing one complete song and tell me who sang the lead or they’re out of the house. It’s like a pop quiz, they never know when that day may come so they must be prepared at all times 😉

    • hoopscoach says:

      Jack,

      In the 5th grade at Holy Name, our teacher Mr. Mussa had us listen to the Beatles song, “All You Need Is Love”. We had to try and figure out how many times they said the word ‘Love”.

      I lost count after 10…

  9. Jack Kelly says:

    Coach, Now that’s a cool teacher – listening to a great song while pretending it’s part of the curiculum.

  10. jimmy vac says:

    I had a music teacher that had up listen to Simon & Garfunkel and analyze “Bridge Over Troubled Water”, “Mrs. Robinson” & ” Sounds of Silence”…

  11. BL says:

    Nothing was better than Paco! In his deep spanish voice dis es KTU.LOL

  12. John Langton says:

    I remember the first time I heard Black Sabbath was when Mr. Jennings played “Iron Man” during music appreciation. Very cool, and something that nowadays somebody would complain about!

    • hoopscoach says:

      John,

      I recall listening to music in the park; we always had someone that had a boom box. Donato Barrucco from 16th street was our music man. Always had some sort of Rock n Roll on. But, I must admit, at times he would throw on some disco occasionally.

  13. mike slavin says:

    TOMMY PARKER WAS OUR MUSIC MAN UP AT THE CORAL. HE WAS SO GOOD HE HAD A JACK THAT HE COULD PLUG INTO THE LIGHT POLE AND WE WOULD LISTEN TO MUSIC ALL NIGHT, NO NEED OF BATTERIES. JENNINGS AND MUSSA GAVE THE BEST MUSIC CLASSES IN HOLY NAME.
    BEATLES, CLAPTON, DEEP PURPLE, BLACK SABBATH, JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR HAD JUST COME OUT AND THEY PLAYED THAT FOR RELEGION CLASS. LOL

  14. Vinny Conlon says:

    WNEW was it while growing up on 16th st. Now alot of those same DJ’s to my amazement I listen to them now on Serious XM radio in San Diego. Brings back good memories. Thanks for bring it up.

  15. jack says:

    great memories,thanks scott,pete,dave and allison

Leave a Reply

