GOOD LUCK PAT FENTON

Wishing all the best for our guy Pat Fenton who is center-stage tonight!

Details on his show are below…

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to GOOD LUCK PAT FENTON

  1. Tonyf16thSt says:

    Break A Leg

  2. Jack Kelly says:

    Hey Pat, After your success which I’m sure will come your way how about a sequel telling stories from the real best neighborhood in town which surrounded PS 10’s schoolyard on 7th avenue and Prospect. Being from the otherside of the tracks doesn’t make us bad guys or girls 😉

    • hoopscoach says:

      Jackie,

      We may have to set up a stage somewhere and have you tell us stories…

    • Pat Fenton says:

      I appreciate that, Jack. As far as I’m concerned, Prospect and 7th Avenue was also a part of our neighborhood. When I grew up on 17th Street there was this feeling that we were all in it together. And we were.
      Pat

  3. Tonyf16thSt says:

    Jack you can call it Baloney and more Baloney LOL

  4. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    (sigh) still in work, would have loved to go over and see this1

  5. jiimyvac says:

    Good luck, Pat. Jack, I spent alot of time on the other side of the tracks, playing ball at PS10, delivering the night owl (Daily News) to Webster and Jackson for Nick’s candy store and spending the money at Louie’s and Frank.s… Steven, was reading the real estate section and Carmelo’s wife was showing off her decorating… her name is LA-LA… I may go uptown and
    scream LA-LA. and se what happens!!!!

  6. Gladys Mastrion says:

    Pat,
    Last night was awesome! What a great play! The actors were terrific, they made my eyes tear at times, they made me smile, they made me laugh out loud at times, they bought everything back to life again. But, the best part was that for a little over 2 hours last night you took me back to 17st, it was 1958 again and I was watching the world go by from Dr. Gardner’s stoop. Thank you so much for taking me home again! What a gift you gave me! Bravo!
    PS
    Oh yea, it also made me want to scream when I realized that Robert Moses stole my inheritance! In 1952 my Grandfather turned his house at 373 19st over to the city for $3,000!

    • hoopscoach says:

      Good for you Gladys…I hope you had a great time!

    • Pat Fenton says:

      A special thank you to you, Gladys for coming to Chelsea to my play. And what you wrote meant a lot to me. Along with Bob Rice, it was certainly good for me to look out and see another neighborhood face in the audience. And, I remember that neighborhood reunion you spoke about with Alice Murray there, a wonderful person and I miss her. She was so much a part of what Windsor Terrace once was.

      The reunion was down at a small VFW club somewhere on 5th Avenue. I remember Eunice Murphy, who I hadn’t seen in so many years walking up to me as I was standing at the bar, and she asked me did I want to slow dance with her. And I did. And I was back in the 50’s again.
      I’ll be in touch,
      Pat

      • hoopscoach says:

        Pat,

        Congrats my man…glad to hear things went well.

        Keep up the great work.

        Maybe we should look into doing a show at HNS sometime in the summer?

        Possible location for reading: the schoolyard!

        Set up chairs, small stage, refreshments, raise money for the school.

        What do you think?

      • Gladys Mastrion says:

        Pat,
        I took pictures at that reunion! I found them recently when I was unpacking, and I gave them to Kenny Murray just a few weeks ago!

      • hoopscoach says:

        That is great!

  7. TonyF16thSt says:

    Hey Jack remember those softball games at PS 10’s. I remember the frist time we came down to play you guys and we played arc pitching because of the way the school yard was situated. I also remember getting spun into the ground trying to hit the ball coming down at me and striking out. Charlie Cummings and Dennis Volkes used to pitch for you guys if I remember right.

    We had some great times at PS10’s

  8. TonyF16thSt says:

    He was a real good guy, a tough kid. Me, him and Dennis Volkes went to Grady together. Charlie pitched for grady.
    I wonder what became of him? I did see dennis at one of the reunions at Farrell’s

    • hoopscoach says:

      Tony,

      I do know that Charlie made it all the way to Tidewater, Triple A ball with the Mets in 1974.

      His stats are on line.

  9. TonyF16thSt says:

    That whole 7th ave crew were a bunch of good guys.

  10. richie k says:

    Charlie was a great pitcher for grady, i think kenny lawson also pitched with him, if i am right charlie messed his arm up playing football, i remember him always throwing off for mcbears, one end zone to the other, great arm

  11. jimmy vac says:

    I remember hearing Charlie getting yelled at by the Mets for playing football.. I thought he also hurt his back.. he was also a good hitter.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Hoping someone that reads the blog can put me in touch with him.

      Jackie Kelly, what do you think? Where’s Charlie C?

  12. Pat Fenton says:

    Steve, bringing my play “Stoopdreamer” to the school yard at Holy Name to help out our school, where I started out so long ago, is a wonderful idea. And you know what? If down the road I decide that I could pull the trigger on your idea, you will be the first one to know. Believe me, you will. I’ll be thinking of it. I would love to pay them back for all they gave me.
    I lost my way for awhile after leaving there, like a lot of us did when we were young, hung out with some rough people, but I always got pulled back to what they thought me.
    When I get a chance, I’ll send off a letter I received about 7 years ago from the head of the order of the brothers we had after he read one of my articles.

    Pat

Leave a Reply

