WHERE’S THE RESPECT FOR OLD GLORY?

I was informed by a long time reader of the blog and good friend that the folks over at the Pavillion Movie Theater are not doing the right thing.

Someone in charge is dropping the ball.

The United States Flag is being disrespected.

What a disgrace!

You mean to tell me someone can’t get out on the roof and fix ‘Stars and Stripes’?

Click on the above image to enlarge.

Here’s my guy with his take.

For the last 2 weeks I have noticed from my terrace that the US Flag was not flying properly from the Pavilion Theater.  I am attaching a picture taken this morning from my terrace.  I have gone to the theater on 5 occasions and asked the management to bring in the US Flag since it is not being flown properly, it is dragging on the roof of the marquee, it is not on the staff flying properly.  Even when flown at night it should be taken in, or a light is supposed to be shining at the flag if left out, and that is not the case when left out.  I was told every time by management, the staff is broken and the flag cannot be flown properly.  I ask then simply take the flag in and show the flag its proper respect.  They say I should mind my business and they will hang it when the flag pole is fixed.
This is a theater that is on a street that was renamed this past year, the name is right in front of the theater, as “Julian Brennan Way.”  Lance Corporal Brennan (USMC), 25 died on January 25, 2009, while supporting combat operations in Farah province in Afghanistan, he lived on Prospect Park West down the street from the theater.  Also, Bartel Pritchard Square across the street from the theater holds in the middle of the circle a monument from the VFW P.J. Devaney Post #964, which was placed there in 1965. It reads “In memory of the men of this community who gave their lives in wartime service to their community” on the other side it states “For valor and sacrifice.”
The laziness of the management of the Pavilion Theater is an embarrassment that they will not open a window and take in the US Flag and show its proper respect while we have brave men and woman still overseas fighting and protecting our freedom.  In a few weeks will be the Brooklyn Irish American parade that will start and finish in front of this same theater, a wreath will be placed at the circle honoring those lost from our community from the tragedy of 9/11.  With all this around them they still do not show the respect for our US flag.
I hope that people will Boycott this theater until they get their act together and learn what respect is.  Simply opening a window and taking in the flag is just too simple.  They also have no problem having the marquee changed when the movies change but bringing in the flag seems to be below these individuals.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to WHERE’S THE RESPECT FOR OLD GLORY?

  1. TonyF16ST says:

    US – Pavilion on the Park LLC acquired the movie theater property, located in Brooklyn, New York, of One Liberty Properties Inc, a real estate investment trust, for $## mil in cash.
    This is who owns the place. Good luck this looks like a david and goliath situation

  2. TonyF16ST says:

    Here is the number for the parent co. One Liberty Properties, Inc

    Tel: 1/516 466-3100

  3. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    our community is too well represented in loss in service to our country and 9/11- I can’t join your boycott because I would not be caught dead in that tiny, poorly run theater. But, I will pass the word.

  4. Brooklyn Dave says:

    Perhaps they can also do something about the bed bug problem that they have as well!

  5. Gene Green says:

    The box office number is 718 369 0836 If they get enough calls they might react. I just called and I am in Maryland.

  6. Karen (Artz) Shanley says:

    Just posted this info on the FB page for “Growing up in Park Slope” There ar over 1200 members on this page so I hope they get alot of phone calls.

  7. Karen (Artz) Shanley says:

    I know 4 people who have called in the last 5 mins, so word is getting out.

  8. H.Mills says:

    Just called the 718 #, was hung up on. To bad this isn’t ’70 or ’71, ’cause this problem would’ve been taken care of VERY quickly……………

  9. Karen (Artz) Shanley says:

    I heard the flag has been taken down. Someone let us know if that is true.

  10. Karen (Artz) Shanley says:

    Sorry about typo’s above. My “e” gets stuck. lol Someone let us know

  11. Bill LaVasseur says:

    This is disgraceful. Many people from our neighborhood have sacrficed for our country. This is the problem today and it starts at the top, Obama would not wear a flag pin and then after killing Osama, he now wears it all the time. It should be a crime to disrespect our flag. After working in the NYPD for almost 22 years and also talking with a number of vets and wounded warriors, the old saying is true: FREEDOM IS NOT FREE. FIX the flag or take it DOWN!!!

  12. Jim Rallis says:

    The flag is down and it was more disgraceful how it was taken down. It was laid across the roof of the marquee and then rolled up in a ball and placed on top of the marqee then placed in a bag and thrown from the marquee. The person who took it down was placed at risk by management by climbing a ladder that did not reach the top of the marquee, then the side of the building and then side of the marquee while it was wet. I have it all on video and it was disgraceful. The manager who original told me last week to mind my business was upset I was taping it, and not concerned with the danger she put her employee. She placed blame on her owners not herself for all actions. The manager had no idea the street was named for a US Marine killed in Afghanistan. Ignorance and stupidity thrive in this theater. I will try to post the video if i can figure it out, I keep getting told file too big I guess You Tube here it comes!!

  13. Jim Rallis says:

    Also take note of the first name of the movie showing on the marquee when you click the picture and zoom in – “Act of Valor” , adding insult to injury!!

  14. jimmy vac says:

    Just called the box office, They stated the flag was taken down…

  15. Joe Pisculli says:

    The people who do things like this have never had to defend this country. They have no respect for the flag of this great nation and the brave men and women who have given the ultimate sacrifice so they can run their business. I left the neighborhood in 1974 when I joined the Army I spent 20 years serving proudly. I have spent the last 18 years as a defense contractor providing support to our troops. I spent my 25th birthday (24 April 1980) in a burning desert. On 4 Oct 1993 4 months before my retirement my best friend (Tim Martin) and 2 of my teammates (Randy Shughart and Gary Gordon) lost their lives in Somalia. This guy should have to live in a shithole like Mogadishu and see what freedoms he has then. Sorry for ranting but this hit a nerve.

    Hopefully the Boy Scout Troop at Holy Name can get ahold of that flag and retire it porperly with the respect it deserves.

  16. Gene Green says:

    Jim Rallis
    2 hours ago
    The flag is down and it was more disgraceful how it was taken down. It was laid across the roof of the marquee and then rolled up in a ball and placed on top of the marqee then placed in a bag and thrown from the marquee. The person who took it down was placed at risk by management by climbing a ladder that did not reach the top of the marquee, then the side of the building and then side of the marquee while it was wet. I have it all on video and it was disgraceful. The manager who original told me last week to mind my business was upset I was taping it, and not concerned with the danger she put her employee in. She placed blame on her owners not herself for all actions. The manager had no idea the street was named for a US Marine killed in Afghanistan. Ignorance and stupidity thrive in this theater. I will try to post the video if i can figure it out, I keep getting told file too big I guess You Tube here it comes!!

    This was posted in the Patch

  17. jimmy vac says:

    It angers me when I think of the care, dignity and respect the servicemen handled the flag at my uncle’s and dad’s funeral. The flag is a symbol of the greatness of this country.Maybe the VFW should request the flag from them so it is in the poper hands…I was originally glad that they took it down now I am mad as hell the way they did it.

  18. Jim Rallis says:

    I have posted some video of them taking down on you tube under the name TheRighthing or look for Pavilion Theater. I apologize for bad zoom in from across the street the i-phone does not show the flag lying across the roof of marquee clearly. In the long video you will see the disgrace of the manager and them throwing flag to ground rolled up in a bag nafter it was lying in a ball on the marquee. And then watch the danger this kid was placed in climbing down from the marquee. You just cannot make this stuff up!!! Thank everyone for your support!! It was because of this blog and the Park Slope Patch blog that the pressure was felt and they finally reacted. Thanks for Doing The Right Thing!!

  19. Jim Rallis says:

    Amazing how the internet can cause a stir. This story has grown. WPIX News came and searched me out to cover this story and it will be shown tonight (Monday 3/5) they were concerned about the safety of the employee. The NYS Dept of Labor OSHA office also wanted more information about the video and is going to be issuing them a safety violation, they say it means no fines but will place them on record for placing this employee in harms way. There is something to be said for showing respect and how far that will go.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Jimmy,

      Yes, the internet is amazing. Congrats on your cause; I admire what you did. Keep me updated on how things turn out and keep your ear to the ground.

  20. mike slavin says:

    JIM, GREAT JOB

  21. jimmy vac says:

    Way to go JIm… way to follow through…

Leave a Reply

