EXTRA-EXTRA READ ALL ABOUT IT

Besides drinking coffee in the morning, I love reading the newspaper.

Been doing it since I was about 10 years old (not the coffee part, started that in my late teens)

Whether it was the New York Post, New York Daily News, Newsday or the New York Times, I bought it, read it and learned from it.

Rae and Otto’s was usually the place I bought my paper.

Not only did I enjoy reading the paper I also worked at a newstand and once delivered newspapers for both the News and Post. The job for the News sucked, we had to wake up way too early. As for the Post, it was an afternoon addition so I’d deliver  it around 4PM.

Speaking of newsstands, it is so easy to pick up a paper in the city; newsstands are like Starbucks, they’re everywhere. One time I was running late to work in the city. I didn’t have time to grab a paper at Rae’s. With my destination being forty-doo-op and 6th, I hopped off the Manhattan-bound ‘F’ train at Jay Street-Boro Hall as it waited for the ‘A’ to pull in the station across the platform. With enough time,  I quickly got up from my seat and hit the newsstand on the middle of the platform and grabbed my Post.

Worked out great, had exact change too. Made it back on the ‘F’ before the doors closed.

Watch the closing doors please…ding-dong

Remember the newsstand in the train station at 4th avenue and 9th street? If you switched up for the ‘R’ train, you could always grab a paper from there. But I know, I know, you’re thinking, ‘Red, the newsstand at 4th avenue was outside the turnstile, if you exited, you had to pay your fare again’.

Not so fast my friend.

I’d knock on the window of the token booth to ask the guy if I could get a paper, he or she was always cool with it.

At one point in my life it was a dream of mine to own a newsstand; especially after working at one in Penn Station for a couple of years back in the early 90’s. Free papers, magazines and candy.

When I read a newspaper I always flip it over  to the Sports section and make my way to the front.

Every story in the sports section is dissected like an Ironworker looking over a blueprint.

On a Monday morning last Spring while reading the Post in a coffee shop on Park Avenue I counted 10 different stories on the Red Sox-Yankees game that was played the previous day.

Over the years I have read outstanding writers like Peter Vecsey, Harvey Araton, Phil Pepe, Dick Young, Bill Travers, Jimmy Breslin, the Hamill brothers and Jim Dwyer. These guys were some of my favorite scribes and have become huge inspirations for this rookie writer.

I can’t forget about the Sporting News; another one of my favorite papers. Every sport covered on a weekly basis.

My love for writing comes from my addiction to newspapers. I was never a big book reader growing up but that all changed in my 20’s.

It saddens me to hear about so many newspaper people losing their jobs due to the Internet becoming the major source for information. In Michigan, the newspapers seem to be getting thinner and thinner each day.

I also enjoy visiting different cities around the country and picking up their newspapers; always a ton of info to absorb.

In a time where the Internet has been the major source for news, reading a newspaper on on-line does the trick for me but there will never be anything like holding the actual newspaper in my hands despite getting a ton of ink on my fingers.

Respectfully,

Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to EXTRA-EXTRA READ ALL ABOUT IT

  1. JOHN SEILER says:

    STEVE NOW I KNOW WHO U R. DEE DEE COMES UP FROM FLORIDA EVERY FEW MONTHS SOMETIMES I SEE HIM. BROOKE BUD SEES HIM I THINK WHEN HE COMES UP THEY USED TO WORK TOGETHER ON THE IRON. AGAIN TAKE CARE HEALTH AND HAPPY NEW YEARS.

  2. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    When I am in New Orleans, I always read the. Times- Picayune. One thing I notice is that everyone seems to get in the obituaries. There is almost always a picture and a lot of stuff about the person aside from family listings. They will say what their hobbies are, what sports team they followed, etc. I kinda like it like that….and GEAUX SAINTS!

  3. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Yes, Saints play the Lions..ironically, cannot watch, cause I will be at Carnegie Hall for the Preservation Hall Jazz Band’s 50th anniversary concert. There are many guests, and I am thinking we GOTTA get some score updates from the stage. One of my favorite columnists in the news was Mike McAlary (sp), gone far too soon…

  4. Kenny Whelan says:

    A great Sunday afternoon for me is the TV muted with a sports event on, KGSR (Austin radio station) on the stereo and the NY Times and Austin American Statesman at my feet. Gives me a chance to catch up on national, local, and what’s going on in my hometown,

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Kenny.

      Happy New Year.

      The more I watch these sporting events on TV, the more I realize I need to reach for the remote and select, ‘mute’.

  5. jimmyvac says:

    I always read Dick Young but soured on him because of the Seaver issue.
    Pepe and McAlary were great writers. I think Pepe only does books now.
    Hoops, hitting the mute button is always a viable option. I always enjoyed reading Vecsey’columns.. fun and informative…he was touting the ABA players long before the merger….

    • hoopscoach says:

      Jimmy,

      Mute is always a good thing on the remote.

      I’m not familiar with the Young/Seaver situation; care to shed some light?

  6. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I used to enjoy reading Dick Young, but somewhere along the way, he became bitter and mean-spirited in his criticism of athletes. On a different not, has their BEEN a blog entry re the new Farrell’s sign?? I notice it is being uses now. I am still not sure how I feel about it..the colors just remind me of Bourbon St. (My least favorite part of New Orleans)

    • hoopscoach says:

      Have not did anything about the new sign. I was actually in the mood for some change the other night – was thinking of putting a new picture for the header but stuck it out with the Farrell’s sign.

  7. ROBERT CUNNINGHAM says:

    Late reply here, but some of your older readers will remember James “Buster” McKenna who owned and worked a news kiosk on Lexington Ave and 59 St across from Bloomies. Buster was a stand up guy and a WW II Vet and a POW. He was a regular at Farrell’s and had a wonderful singing voice. It was an awesome sight to see how this fine and generous man made his living!

  8. Kevin Mahoney says:

    Steve,

    The Dick Young/Seaver thing was Young portraying Seaver as greedy and siding with M. Donald Grant while negotiations were going on between Seaver and the Mets, which ultimately ended up with Seaver being traded to the Reds.

  9. jimlinda1247 says:

    Hi Broadway Jim Fox here.You were right about Buster.He was also a good bartender at the post,and breakfast at Farrell’s with Eddie in mornings
    Jim Fox Tampa

  10. David Cullen says:

    A little slow to reply on this topic, but I LOVED newspapers. Now, I, like many others, get their news on the internet and I get one news magazine delivered weekly. Got a kick out of Dick Young’s column and when I read Basketball Digest and Baseball Digest regularly, had my introduction to other newspapers around the US, such as the Detroit Free Press and the Cleveland Plain Dealer, both of those cities and their metro areas home to many sports fanatics. I particularly remember and enjoying Joe Falls (I think that was his name), who covered news for the Detroit Free Press. Does Detroit still have the Free Press Steve? Just curious. Seattle has been hit by the internet/cable news thing also so they’ve lost some long-running newspapers.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Dave,

      Free Press is till a favorite of mine. Mitch Albom writes for them. Excellent writer.

      Joe Falls was very good too. He died about 6-7 years ago.

      Basketball Digest was classic…we always were able to read stories by columnists from around the nation.

  11. ROBERT CUNNINGHAM says:

    Back in the day Buster lived at 433 I lived there Ist Fl left until 1960.
    Shout out to Jim Fox good to hear from you! Stay Well!

    • Gene Green says:

      You had a sister Peggy that was a few months older then me. I was on the right hand side. The McKenna’s were on the third floor right. I am glad I am not completly lost 🙂

  12. ROBERT CUNNINGHAM says:

    I HAVE a sister Peggi, she lives iv Calif. and of course I remember you and your family. Stay well my friend!

Leave a Reply

