DEAR MOMMA

It saddens me to inform all the readers of Container Diaries that my mother Carol Corbett has passed away; she was 69.

Here is her Obituary from the New York Daily News.

CORBETT-Carol E., 69, of Keyport, passed away Thursday, October 2, 2008, at home. Born in Brooklyn she resided for the past three years with her cousin, Susan Corbett. Born in Brooklyn Carol was predeceased by her father, Raymond R. Corbett; and sister, Sheila Sabbagh. Surviving are two sons, John Finamore of College Point, NY; and Stephen Finamore of E. Lansing, MI; and one daughter, Sharon Rutter of Staten Island, NY; a sister, Eleanor Corbett of Staten Island; a brother, Tim Corbett of Manhattan; and four grandchildren. Cremation was private. A Memorial Mass will be offered on Tuesday, 10AM at Holy Name Church, 245 Prospect Park West, Brooklyn, NY. DAY FUNERAL HOME, 361 Maple Place, Keyport, NJ handled the cremation. For online condolences to the family, visit http://www.dayfuneralhome.com.

She fought the good fight for a long time.

For all that knew her, you’ll remember her as a funny, down-to-earth woman who spoke her mind, worked hard and was a good mother.

One trait she possessed was her honesty. She told you how she felt whether you agreed with her or not. She wasn’t one to pull any punches.

Carol was an outstanding Grandmother to my daughter Taylor. She never forgot Taylor’s birthday; and even though we lived 800 miles away, Carol always sent a package filled with gifts. On Christmas it was the same. Taylor’s eyes would light up when United Parcel pulled up and dropped off a package.

Carol had a knack of remembering birthday’s. She always thought it was important to send a card.

She was a good soul who cared about people. She liked her cocktails and I can honestly say, she lived life to the fullest. Her favorite saying if she liked someone was, “she’s a good egg.”

There will be a Memorial Mass held at Holy Name Church on Prospect Park West Tuesday morning at 10AM.

Carol Corbett, R.I.P.

-SF

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to DEAR MOMMA

  1. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Words always seem inadequate at times of sorrow. I am sending you a virtual hug and I am sure your mother was immensely proud of you and the fact that you decided to do something good with your life.
    We all need a Carol Corbett in our lives, someone who will flat out tell you the truth, whether we want to hear it or not. I will be at the Mass on Tuesday.

  2. BL says:

    To the Finnamore family please remember;”A lifetime is a short time to wait ,when we get to spend eternity with the one’s we love”.God Speed-Amen

  3. jimmy vack says:

    Steve,
    My deepest sympathies for your and your family’s loss. You all will be in my prayers. Her fight is over and her peace has begun.

  4. GT says:

    Steve,

    My condolences to you and your family. Your mom was a good woman, way too young for Heaven, feel at peace knowing she is there and she herself at peace now. What I remember most was the smile and happiness that would always come from her when I stopped to talk because we would be talking about you, She lit up at the mention of your name and was so proud of you. I last saw her at Monmouth race track, she was on the Farrells trip, she filled me in on your latest happenings and anybody within a 20ft radius could feel and hear the excitement and love in her voice as she spoke of you. She was proud being your mother. She had good reason to be.

    Gerard

  5. Annemarie McGrath says:

    Red, I’m so very sorry for your loss. I just told someone the other day that I was paying them the highest compliment, via my grandmother (Sis Fox) by saying they were “a good egg”. Peace and prayers, Red. Annemarie

  6. bill shaw(tumpy) says:

    So sorry to hear about your mom red.I remember your mom well being that we grew up few doors apart.She always had a nice word for me when I would run into her.Again my deepest sympathy to you and your brother

  7. hoopscoach says:

    Thank you to all – Carol had a lot of friends.

    GT,
    I appreciate that a lot. I hope you are doing well.

  8. Betty T.B.T. says:

    Red, John and Sharon, so sorry to hear of your loss. Please know at this sad time, when loosing someone so special and so important in your life, that you are being prayed for.

  9. Bill LaVasseur says:

    I am very sorry to read of the passing of your mother and my condolences to you and your family.

  10. Mel Pynn says:

    Steve,
    I’m very sorry to hear about your loss, your family will be in my prayers. May your mom rest in peace! God bless, Mel

  11. TonyF16St says:

    Steve,
    Like I said in the e-mail, if you need anything done on this end don’t hesitate to ask.
    Again my deepest condolences to you and your brother and Sister

  12. Jerry Cole says:

    Steve,

    I too am very sorry to hear of your mom’s passing. Please accept my sincere condolences. I’ll keep you, John, Sharon and the rest of the family in my prayers.

    Jerry

  13. M. Corrigan says:

    Dear Steve,

    Please accept my deepest condolences upon the death of your dear mother. There are no words to assuage the sadness of losing your mother, but with All Saints Day coming up soon, I hope you can picture her up there in the Communion of Saints with all the other great people of the parish who have gone on ahead of us.

    May they all pray for us as we keep up the good fight, in their memory, and may their goodness and greatness guide us on our way Home to them.

    Love,

    Maureen Corrigan

  14. Diane C. says:

    Steve

    Words cannot express the sadness i felt hearing of your moms passing. I always had the utmost respect for her and always had fun when she was around. I will always remeber her wit and kind words she always gave me.
    I will keeep you all in my prayers.

  15. Paul Quirke says:

    Dear Steve,
    Sorry to hear about your Mom’s passing. My mother called me right away with the sad news. I guess the only thing I can say is that the entire Quirke family will have you guys in our prayers. PDQ
    Steve ,I’d just like to say, this is the difference between Container Diaries and Brownstone. In Container diaries, we are friends, family, and love one another, they will never know this.

  16. Maureen Mazzola says:

    Cousin Carol Corbett lived with my mother Susan Corbett and I for the last three years. I thank God everyday that I had the opportunity to spend everyday with her, precious time that I will always be grateful for. Carol was a tough cookie, a fighter, and God was kind enough to give her the kind of passing that was painless, dignified and comfortable. She was surrounded by her family and carefully watched over in her last hours. This is something i will forever be grateful for. I know there are a lot of you out there who wish you could have been with her at the moment God took her, but know that she held each and every one of you close to her and in her heart. God bless her family and her COUNTLESS amount of friends. She was quite the popular lady, especially when she moved here to Keyport with my mother and I.. everywhere she went, she made all kinds of friends..from the local restaurant owners to a lady who owns a thrift store.. Carol’s favorite “Tuesday’s Child” She loved you all. The world is going to be a much sadder place without her. My mother and I give all our love to her children, grandchildren, and to everyone else who’s lives she touched. God bless.

    Maureen Mazzola

  17. Bobby Trapp says:

    Steven, Our Prayers are with you and your Family during a very sad time. I am so sorry to hear of your loss, may you always remember the great times you had with your Mom, and share it with your Loved ones. God Bless you, Steven.

  18. Glenn T. says:

    Our deepest condolescences to my good friend Steve Finamore, his wife Mary, and daughter Taylor, and to John Finamore, Sharon and Marty Rutter and family, to the rest of the Corbett/Finamore family in their time of grief and sorrow with the passing of Carol Corbett. She will certainly be missed and will be remembered in all of our prayers.
    We are deeply sorry for your loss.

    Sincerely,

    The Thomas Family
    Glenn, Renata, Carolina, John, and Mariana
    Mr. and Mrs. John A. Thomas

  19. Helen Cole Prestia says:

    Steve,

    I am sorry for you loss. Your family is in my thoughts and prayers.

    Helen

  20. Sal Marino (Junior) says:

    Dear Stve,
    I am so sorry to hear of your mom’s passing. Please accept my deepest condolences, she and your entire family will be in my prayers.

  21. Mary Kawas-Rotolo says:

    Hi Fin,

    I am really so sorry to hear about your mom. Although I really didn’t know her well I know that she was a good woman- it is evident in her three children. My prayer will be that you, Sharon and John feel the comfort of the Lord at this really sad time. God Bless You, MKR

  22. tommy fraser says:

    steve,
    i am truly sorry to hear of your mothers passing. she will be missed.

    tommy fraser

  23. Emily Beshears says:

    Aunt carol was amazing when i was younger i called her little nana,since she looked just like her sister(my nana) sheila.She was funny and like you said very honest thats what i loved about her,she was just so real.
    My mother lori is upset she is not able to be there,like aunt carol was always there for her. my brother brian just loves carol sooo much we all regret not being there,but i know that she know we love her and always have even though we are all the way in texas.
    you guys are in our prayers
    Love
    Emily, Lori and Brian.

  24. happy420 says:

    Dear John Steven & Sharon

    Our deepest condolescences to the Finnamore family who have been very long time friends of the family. Carol will be missed very much. We have alot of great memories and pictures of all of us through the years. My Mother (Dolores) lost a best friend and is heartbroken but, she has a lifetime of memories that will always make her smile. You will always be in our hearts and prayers. Love you all.

    With all our prayers

    Joann Hickey and Familey

  25. happy420 says:

    Dear John Steven & Sharon

    Our deepest condolescences to the Finnamore family who have been very long time friends of the family. Carol will be missed very much. We have alot of great memories and pictures of all of us through the years. My Mother (Dolores) lost a best friend and is heartbroken but, she has a lifetime of memories that will always make her smile. You will always be in our hearts and prayers. Love you all.

    With all our prayers

    Joann Hickey and Family

  26. Liz Sabbagh says:

    Right up until the bitter end my Aunt Carol still had plenty of the “fight” in her despite her circumstances. She was amazing.

    I have always had the utmost respect and admiration for her. As a kid, her independence left me awestruck as she worked and supported her family without ever asking anyone for anything. Don’t get me wrong, she wasn’t “all work and no play”. She was as funny as hell. I often referred to her as “the world’s oldest teenager”.

    I have such fond memories of our Saturday expeditions down Fifth with Aunt Carol and Sharon. The Stagenhaven, Dee & Dee, the junk stores, and we’d end it all with a tuna Blimpie with “the works”. We would walk down, but we took the 75 bus back to the apartment. We’d listen to records and singalong if we had an album with the lyrics on the back.

    I know it probably doesn’t sound like much. Perhaps, I just enjoyed the time she spent with me because it was easy to get lost in the crowd at my house. She was, and still is truly one of my heroes. Unfortunately, I found it difficult to tell her how I felt about her because she wouldn’t have understood. She wasn’t built that way.

    Well, rest in peace Aunt Carol, you deserve it! I love you and I will miss you…

    Your niece,

    Lizzie

  27. Alex McNeil says:

    Steve:

    I am terribly sorry to hear about your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    Al

  28. Frank Lakat says:

    Hey Coach, so sorry to hear of your loss, I’m sure she was a special woman to have been loved by so many.

    I gotta agree with Paul, any of the haters and those who would have anything to say about a neighborhood blog about a “real neighborhood” should understand a bit more about us all from reactions we have as friends and neighbors at a time like this. I’ll remember Mrs. Corbett as someone who helped make this possible. God bless you & your family.

  29. Jim Sullivan says:

    Finn,

    That is some rough news you posted. God Bless you and your family during these difficult days. I didn’t have the pleasure of meeting her, but from what I read you were very fortunate to have such an outstanding mother (now grandmother) in your life.

    Jim

  30. K Molloy says:

    Steve,
    My sincere condolences on the loss of your Mom. I lost my mom when she was 68 a few years ago and it had a profound effect on me. I still can’t believe she is not somewhere on this planet still breathing.
    Your mom was always cool with us when we hung out. My family and I will also pray for you and yours that the Lord will comfort you during this time of grief.

  31. Mary Anne (Brick) Monaco says:

    Deepest condolences to you and your family Steve. I know only too well how hard the loss of a mother is. I will keep your family in my prayers

  32. Terry D says:

    Dear Steve and Family,
    So sorry to hear about your mom’s passing. I know that
    each and every thought, word and prayer really do help at
    this time of sorrow. I do want you to know from experience
    that thoes people we love so much never really leave us.
    You will notice little things that will let you know that your mom’s still with you. It might be a song, an aroma, or even a dream about her. My family kept finding quarters that my mom would use for the slot machines. It’s very comforting to know that they’re as close as a thought. Our prayers are with you.—–Terry and family

  33. Susan Corbett says:

    Dear Stephen, I am so sorry I didn’t get to talk to you the day of your mom’s Mass. First, let me say I am so sorry for your loss.
    Your mother left this world in peace. No pain or fear. She was loved and cared for till the end of her life. She truly was a courageous woman. She faced some unbearable circumstances at different times in her life with strength and humor. I was and am, in awe of her spirit and her determination to go on in spite of the odds.. She was in deed loved and respected and she is missed by both Maureen and I. She brought a love and affection to our house that will never be replaced. From everything I’m told she was very happy living here with us in Keyport. She adjusted well to the move and made friends easily. The last three years I hope were as happy for her as they were for us. As we get older Stephen, we realize life is far too short and that sometimes there’s not enough time to say the things that are in our hearts. Live and Love Life to the fullest, with no regrets. I wish you peace.

    Cousin Susan

  34. hoopscoach says:

    Thank you to all. Your comments mean a lot.

  35. Bobby Burke says:

    Dear Steve,

    I am sorry to hear of the passing of your Mom. I remember your Mother as a kind, funny straight-shooter. In many ways she reminded me of my Dad, Artie Burke. They were people who came from the same mold; they were characters in that they lived life very fully and said what was on their minds and that seems to be a vanishing characteristic in the world we live in today. My deepest condolences to you.

    Very Truly Yours

    Robert Burke

  36. hoopscoach says:

    Bobby,

    Thank you. Shoot me an email, let’s catch up.

    hoops135@hotmail.com

  37. June Hinton Wilson says:

    I am greatly saddened by the passing of Carol Corbett A dull time was never had when Carol was around. Of all the people I’ve met in my life, she was the only one who ever bothered to make a point of telling my Dad what a nice girl I was and how much she enjoyed my company. Dad (Cookie Hinton) was very impressed, since Carol was such a nice girl herself. It really made Dad feel good. That was what she was about. In all the trial and tribulations of her sickness I never heard her complain. She was a doll. I am very sorry for your loss.

  38. Julian says:

    Sorry about your mother Steve, I didn’t remember her that well but I remember her having to set you straight a few times while I was there. She did a good job raising you and your siblings… May God Bless Her Soul.

  39. Richard Coyne says:

    Although I don’t know you, I would like to extend my deepest, and most sincere condolences on the loss of you mom. Mothers are a special breed. I pray that you look back on a lifetime of memories, and feel your moms spirirt with you

Leave a Reply

