REFLECTIONS

There’s been a tremendous amount of feedback to the Container Diaries Blog. From reading everyone’s comments, what I find amazing is how the generation gap from the neighborhood is stretched from the 1940’s all the way to the 80’s! Today, I will post a few comments from the comments section which might go unread.

farrells-mirror.jpg

From Brian Lang:

I remember when the run (Basketball Games) switched from Holy Name to P.S.154. I would walk down Prospect ave. Stop in the D&R Deli (Dirt and Roaches). It was on the corner of 10th ave. across from Mc Bears. Get a sundew and a pickle. Then in the summer when it was 100 degrees we used to go to key food and get some a/c to cool off and drink a large sundew iced tea in the store without paying. Much props to Father Devlin for bringing the Holy Name summer League back.

From Kevin Molloy:

Thinking of Holy Name cross country back then do you remember how dominant Mickey Reilly was for Holy Name? I don’t think he ever lost a race for the school. Also Mary K was dominant on the girls side.

From Betty Trapp:

JUST FOR THE RECORD, I WAS ONE OF MARYS COACHES DURING HER YOUNGER YEARS AND WHAT A PLEASURE AND PRIVILEGE IT WAS. SHE IS A REAL SPECIAL LADY.

From Mike Purdy:

I also remember Lala…Junkie Joe with the baby carriage. Also on 10th Ave there was that old man, he’d checked your hands to see if they were clean. If they were clean he would give you tickets to Palisades Amusement Park. Unfortunately the tickets were no good because Palisades Amusement Park was closed down. Years later he was found frozen to death outside Connie’s Corner (Windsor and 10th. Ave). Those were the days…

From Michael Lang:

Me & my 17th Street crew use to climb over the high fence at Bishop Ford, go down the metal steps to play 2 on 2 sponge ball in the schoolyard. We use to chip in and buy from either Rays n Ottos or Bargain Land the white baseball spongeballs, somtimes leaving these stores with 12 balls…going home with none ! I use to pitch a double header almost every other day , probably 200 pitches a game. We all sucked, all the games were 1-0 or 2-0 generated by walks …we all struck out 10x each. No pitch count for this magic arm. What a nut i was. Then we use to go down to get this one “AUNT FANNIES FARM” and buy the 1/2 gallon sun dew drinks in all different flavors for like 75 cents and pass it around like a doobie…….oh those were the days !!!!

From Tommy Fields:

Use to play a lot of street hockey, with the metal rollerskates on 11th ave between 16th and the parkside. There use to be a nice gap in the park fence right by 11th, I think the Saxon’s (remember them?) made it with a car jack so they could slip through and get to Suicide easier. Made getting over there easier for sleighriding. Also, it’s on the way to lookout, where Brother John used to run track practice on the “track” which once around was supposed to be a 220. A few of us would go half way and jump in the bushes to get out of running for a while, then jump back in. Remember seeing some funny stuff on that hill in all weather.
Someone mentioned the guy they found outside Connie’s frozen, I remember seeing him shortly after they found him, I think Bobby Cirillo found him all blue.
Anyone remember playing baseball cards? I still remember beating Stephen Keating in a 100er last. I think he’s still pissed. He did have a hell of an arm and if he hit you with a snowball, you knew it. For that matter, a brand new spaldeen hurt as much if it hit you playing swift at 154.

* * *

Keep posting those comments, sending those emails (hoops135@hotmail.com), keep spreading the word, keep reading, or if you have pictures that you’d like to see posted on the blog, please send them. It’s you, the reader, that makes Container Diaries special…

P.S.

If you own a digital camera, take a picture of the portrait you would like to send.  It’s easier than getting it scanned…

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to REFLECTIONS

  1. Rich Cirillo says:

    Hi Tommy,

    It’s Richy. Bobby’s older brother.

    If you remember we use to play alot of stick ball on 10th ave between the parkside and 16th St.
    You, Bobby, Gary Aide, Kevin Walsh to name a few.
    I remember going to your house for something to drink after an all day stickball game, or for you just to check in with your Mom. She was a very sweet lady.

    If I’m not mistaken, I think you had to be home at 5 PM sharp for dinner just about every night.
    All our Mom’s use to yell out the window, or up and down the block when it was time for us to go home!

    Tommy, remember playing Army men. We use to use the back alley’s of the apartment houses. we would start from the left side Knights of Columbus on 10th Ave all the way down to 11th ave.

    How about the Beatle Shows we would put on at Steven Ubanskis house. All the girls would come in, watch the show and watch us make fools of our self. Funny Stuff and GREAT MEMORIES

    P.S. I also ran track on top of Lookout Mnt. and some of use to do the same thing. half way around and duck into the bushes. I got caught once by Brother Gardenios. He hit me with a stick on my rear end the next time around. He seem to always have a stick handy. A little guy with a big weapon LOL!

    Tom hope you see this, and thanks for giving me some great memories.

  2. hey rich
    you might not know me im angelo and john’s sarris nephew anthony.

    I use to live at 41 ppsw across the hall from kevin walsh.bobby was a good friend of the family how is he? I havent heard seen him in years. my email is atg51169@aol.com tell him i said hi and drop me a line
    thanks

  3. Billy Leavey says:

    HI MICHAEL LANG IT’S BILLY LEAVEY. HOW ARE YOU . WISH I COULD KEEP IN TOUCH WITH MY FAMILY. HOW’S JOHNNY COLES AND PATSY. LAST TIME I SAW ANYONE WAS WHEN RICHIE LANG PASED AWAY. PLEAS E- MAIL ME AND GIVE MY E-MAIL TO JOHNNY COLES, THANKS.
    I MISSED GROWING UP IN BROOKLYN. JACK THE WONDER DAIRY , THE APTS. GO FOR A TON OF MONEY. MY MOTHER AND FATHER RITA AND BILLY PAIS $52.00 A MONTH.

  4. I can’t remember there being a Father Devlin when I was at Holy Name back in the early 60’s. But there was a John Devlin in my class. Could it be that he ended up becoming a priest? I remember my uncle Artie Foulkes used to love telling a war story about John Devlins dad.

    Both my uncle and Devlin were shot down by the Germans over France. As my uncle was being marched to the POW camp, Devlin walked right passed him in civilian clothes provided by the Free French Underground.

    Devlin returned to the U.S. to tell my uncles fiancee what happened and when my uncle came back after the war, Devlin and my uncles fiancee were married to eachother. But, I guess my uncle got over it, because he ended up marrying Anne Cunningham and having seven kids.

    Anyway, I was kind of on the quiet side when I was a kid. Despite being born in Park Slope, a lot of people thought I was from another country because I picked up a Canadian accent from the family that lived next door to us. About the only time anyone noticed me, was when I won the first Science Fair that Holy Name had for my soil erosion project, and I donated the paper I wrote on it to the school library.

    I’m not sure if I’m spelling his name write, but my best friend was Bob Ciulia who lived on 15th street, He used to always call me wild man. He got a job with the Long Island Rail Road, and that was the last I saw of him. I would imagine he married Anita and moved out to the island. It would be great to hear from Bob again.

    I still have a lot of laughs when I tell my wife Annetherese how Bob used to tell all the girls that he was interested in, that I had just got out of the mental ward. But the funny thing was, that Bob and I had totaly different tastes in women, and there was never a single girl that he liked, that I was interested in anyway.

    This is a very nice blog and I’ll link it on my Facebook page, because a lot of my Facebook friends have joined blog sites about Brooklyn. Hope everyone is doing well.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Tim, appreciate you stopping by.

      Father Devlin came to Holy Name in the 80’s. He actually came over from St. Mary’s Mother of Jesus in Bensonhurst.

    • Al says:

      Timmy,

      A name out of the past…I know you.

      I lived just 3 doors away from Bob Ciulla, on 15th Street. I remember you lived a few blocks behind HNS, in a big apartment building (was it Sherman street?).

      Although it has been over 40 years, I can still recall your smiling face, good-natured disposition, and frequent giggling.

      You visited my part of the neighborhood only a small number of times over a period of perhaps a couple of years, then we never met again.

      I remember visiting your home a couple of times and meeting your wonderful parents. I still recall the love that shone in their eyes when they interacted with you, and the care they took to choose their words. That made such an impression upon me; I remember thinking how different they were from my parents.

      I “categorized” you in my mind as a very smart and gifted person.

      Did you ever get “The Amalgamated Generation” published?

Leave a Reply

